Jens-Olaf Lindermann wrote:
> John F. Morse wrote:
>
> Hi John,
>
>> 1. split in multiple files -- No, I use a single file.
>>
> Ok, I too now
>
This option really shouldn't matter. One file may be easier to maintain
than multiple files, especially for a small site like yours and mine.
>> 2. SMTP and smarthost (fetchmail) -- No, I use "Internet Site."
>>
> smtp and over smarthost (fetchmail) was, because my private workstation
> machine runs not all time and I have to dial in (though DSL) so the IP is
> not static.
I don't think this matters for outgoing mail, but according to your new
failure that you show below, it seems you are now getting out to the
Internet.
>> 3. E-Mail-Name of my system: Name of my machine -- No, I use a FQDN.
>>
> The name of my machine is, say, XY - how could I get a FQDN? In my case this
> goes not, I suppose?
>
One easy and quick method is to make up one, but that could cause
problems with the real domain name owner if there is one. ;-)
If you want to register a domain, I think GoDaddy is the cheapest.
http://www.godaddy.com/gdshop/default.asp
You can also get a free domain from several registrars. I have one from
no-ip.com that I've used for years.
http://www.no-ip.com
The problem with it is their "no-ip.*" is used, such as
"mydomain.no-ip.org" so you are advertising for them. But it is free.
> Beside I still have 'machinename' in the configuration for missing FQDN I
> now get this when sending a mail to my yahoo over alice: (some changings in
> here)
>
> jenslindermann[AT]yahoo.de
> SMTP error from remote mail server after initial connection:
> host c.mx.mail.yahoo.com [IP-ADRESS]: 553 Mail from [MY-IP] not
> allowed - 5.7.1 [BL21]
> +Connections not accepted from IP addresses on Spamhaus PBL; see
> http://postmaster.yahoo.com/550-bl21.html
> +[550]
>
> ------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------
>
> Return-path: <lindermann@machinename>
> Received: from lindermann by machinename with local (Exim 4.63)
> (envelope-from <lindermann@machinename>)
> id 1JoCIK-0001T4-Aa
> for jenslindermann[AT]yahoo.de; Tue, 22 Apr 2008 08:48:00 +0200
> Date: Tue, 22 Apr 2008 08:48:00 +0200
> From: Lindermann <me[AT]alice>
> To: jenslindermann[AT]yahoo.de
> Subject: Test
> Message-ID: <20080422064800.GA5639@Hades>
> MIME-Version: 1.0
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
> Content-Disposition: inline
> User-Agent: Mutt/1.5.13 (2006-08-11)
>
> Test
>
>> I'm sorry this test took so long
>>
> Please, John, no excuses! I must excuse this bothering problem - and its
> great, that there are such people in the community, answering an
> bad-English-writing German Debian-newbie...
>
> Jens
No bother at all. Your English is far better than my German! ( Ihr
Englisch ist weit besser als mein Deutscher! Dieses ist nicht ich aber
Alta Vista Babel Fisch
http://world.altavista.com/tr ) ;-)
It seems your problem now is Spamhaus has your ISP's IP range listed in
their RBL
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DNSBL
This is a common problem, due to so much spam being sent by hijacked
Windows PCs on residential-grade ISPs. I sometimes have to go to
Spamhaus and remove my IP from their RBL.
Spamhaus actually lists the whole range of IPs of ISPs that have a
history of spammers. I have a cable ISP, so my dynamically-assigned IP
will remain the same for many months, and even several years. So
Spamhaus can remove the one IP that is assigned to me, and my RBL
problems no longer exist.
Go to the suggested Website and see what they require you to do to get
your IP cleared:
http://postmaster.yahoo.com/550-bl21.html
Since you are on a dialup ISP, which usually provides only a dynamic IP
assignment, getting an IP off the remote black list may be futile
because you will get a new one on every new connection.
Running a mail server on a dynamic IP is a constant fight. If you can
get a static IP from your dialup ISP, or even better some kind of
broadband like DSL or cable TV, that would be the solution.
Then you could register a domain name and have a non-changing IP to
point it toward.
Using a Yahoo/MSN/Google e-mail address is nearly always certain to
cause an RBL block because so many spammers use those "throw-away"
e-mail addresses. A small ISP would probably not be such a target for
spammers, and appear "cleaner," but who knows, since spammers do
whatever it takes to spam.
You can also try sending your e-mail test message backwards, reversing
the ISP direction, and see if the other ISP e-mail address is blacklisted.
tschüß
--
John
No Microsoft, Apple, Intel, Trend Micro, nor Ford products were used in the preparation or transmission of this message.
The EULA sounds like it was written by a team of lawyers who want to tell me what I can't do. The GPL sounds like it was written by a human being, who wants me to know what I can do.